Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2020 reveals its shortlisted artists

Mohamed Bourouissa - Libre échanges - Arles 2019
The 24th Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize has revealed the four artists shortlisted for the £30,000 award as Mohamed Bourouissa, Anton Listers, Mark Neville and Clare Strand.


Since its beginnings in 1996 with The Photographers' Gallery and its subsequent collaboration with the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation from 2016 onwards, this prestigious award has annually recognised artists and projects whom it deems to have made significant contributions to photography over the previous 12 months.


The four projects shortlisted this year offer "very distinctive approaches to the photographic medium whilst demonstrating its ability to accommodate and give form to a diverse range of practice and concerns".


Mohamed Bourouissa (b.1978, Algeria) has been shortlisted for his "Free Trade" exhibition shown at Rencontres d'Arles, France, interrogating consumerism, trade and disenfranchisement (1 July-22 September 2019).


Anton Kusters (b.1974, Belgium) is shortlisted for his conceptual response to violence, trauma and memory, the exhibition "The Blue Skies Project" at London's Fitzrovia Chapel, UK (15-19 May 2019).


Mark Neville (b.1966, UK) has been shortlisted for his publication Parade, a photographic portrait of a Brittany farming community, published by the Centre d’Art GwinZegal, Guingamp, France (2019).


Clare Strand (b.1973, UK) is shortlisted for her exhibition "The Discrete Channel with Noise", an experiment in making, transmitting and interpreting image, shown at PHotoESPAÑA, Madrid, Spain (5-21 June 2019).


The shortlisted projects will be exhibited at the Photographers' Gallery, curated by Anna Dannemann, from February 21 to June 7, 2020, and then go on to Deutsche Börse's headquarters in Eschborn/Frankfurt on June 26.


The winner will be announced at a ceremony help by The Photographers' Gallery on May 14 of next year.


Past winners include Dana Lixenberg, Trevor Paglen, Paul Graham, Juergen Teller, Rineke Dijkstra, Richard Billingham, John Stezaker and Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin.