Inaugural PowSOLO Award Announces Its Winners

Phonoptics Readers - Enrique del Castillo
A collaboration between Dutch arts collective Powland Network and Madrid-based contemporary arts project Colección SOLO, the inaugural PowSOLO Award for international sound artists has announced its winners.


From 116 entries across 10 countries, the jury selected the best international sound art piece, which scoops €10,000 and an opportunity to exhibit at Madrid’s Espacio SOLO, and three further runners up who each take €1,000 to support their practice.


The winners of the 2020 PowSOLO Awards are: 


Best Sound Art: Phonoptics Readers - Enrique del Castillo (Spain)

Made up of two hand-made optical readers running simultaneously, light is translated into sound, producing an ever-changing stream of compositions.

Discovery of the Year: Menagerie - Nolan Lem (USA)

Invention of the Year: Fluid Memory. Fluidic Computer - Ioana Bremer Moser (Romania, based in Berlin, Germany)

Viral of the Year: Bing Bang 850 - Etienne Krähenbühl (Switzerland)


The jury also gave a special mention to Auspicio by Enrico Ascoli and Hilaro Asola (Italy), a soundscape of birdsong using the gases released during wine fermentation.