Shortlist announced for PinchukArtCentre’s Future Generation Art Prize 2021

Aziz Hazara, Bow Echo, 2019 — 5-channel digital video, colour, sound, image courtesy the artist and Museum of Contemporary Art Australia © the artist, photograph: Ken Leanfore
Awarded biannually since its foundation in 2009, PinchukArtCentre’s contemporary art prize offers support to a future generation of global artists.


For its sixth edition, the Future Generation Art Prize received nearly 12,000 applications from artists hoping to follow in the footsteps of 2019 winner Emilija Škarnulytė to be awarded the US $100,000 prize (split into a $60,000 cash prize and a $40,000 investment in the artist’s practice).


Shortlisted artists will be commissioned to produce new works to be shown at the PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv, Ukraine, from October 2021 to January 2022, and at the 2021 Venice Biennale. 


The final selection of 21 shortlisted artists, spanning 18 different countries and five continents, includes: Alex Baczynski-Jenkins (33, Poland), Wendimagegn Belete (34, Ethiopia), Minia Biabiany (32, Guadeloupe), Aziz Hazara (28, Afghanistan), Ho Rui An (29, Singapore), Agata Ingarden (26, France), Rindon Johnson (30, United States), Bronwyn Katz (26, South Africa), Lap-See Lam (30, Sweden), Mire Lee (32, South Korea), Paul Maheke (35, United Kingdom), Lindsey Mendick (32, United Kingdom), Henrike Naumann (35, Germany), Pedro Neves Marques (35, Portugal), Frida Orupabo (34, Norway), Andres Pereira Paz (33, Bolivia), Teresa Solar (35, Spain), Trevor Yeung (32, Hong Kong), and artist collectives Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff (USA), Hannah Quinlan & Rosie Hastings (UK) and Yarema Malashchuk and Roman Himey (Ukraine).


Besides the latter, who were shortlisted automatically as the winner of the PinchukArtCentre Prize 2020, the artists were selected by an international committee featuring Justine Ludwig, curator at Creative Time in NY; Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga, researcher and curator; Daniel Muzyczuk, head of the Modern Art Department at Museum Sztuki in Lodz; Iheanyi Onwuegbucha, curator at CCA Lagos; Jeppe Ugelvig, critic and curator; Zoe Whitley, director of the Chiesenhalе Gallery; and June Yap, Director of curatorial, collections and programmes at Singapore Art Museum. 


The winning artist will be announced at the award ceremony in December 2021. Up to five shortlisted artists who miss out on the main prize may still be awarded a discretionary special prize of $20,000 to develop their artistic practice.