Eight finalists for the Han Nefkens Foundation - ARCOmadrid Award 2019

Maya Watanabe, Liminal, 2019, video still. Courtesy the artist. Commissioned and produced by the Han Nefkens Foundation, with the support of the Mondriaan Fonds.
Now “specialists” in prizes for emerging video creation, the Han Nefkens Foundation (based in Barcelona) has revealed the list of finalists for the second edition of the Hans Nefkens Foundation - ARCOmadrid Award 2019.


Karimah Ashadu (UK, 1985), Manuel Correa (Colombia, 1991), Aziz Hazara (Afghanistan, 1992), Hao Jingban (China, 1985), Polina Kanis (Russia, 1985), Ross Little (UK, 1989), Jorge Scobell (Mexico, 1983) and Ping Wong (Hong Kong, 1994) could all follow in the footsteps of Peruvian artist Maya Watanabe. The latter will be presenting her work Liminal at La Casa Encendida during the next edition of Arco Madrid, from February 27 through March 3.


The winner –  who will be selected by a jury consisting of Han Nefkens, Founder of the Hans Nefkens Foundation, Ana Ara, Head of Public Programs of the Matadero Madrid, Rein Wolfs Director of the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn, Manuel Segade Director of Centro de Arte Dos de Mayoand and Sunjung Kim, President of the Gwangju Biennale Foundation – will receive $15,000 for the production of a video work. The result will be on show at the Matadero Madrid during Arco 2020.