Six finalists for the 7th Max Mara Prize

The finalists for the seventh edition of the Max Mara prize have been announced as follows: Mandy El Sayegh (1985), Eloise Hawser (1985), Athena Papadopoulos (1988), Helen Cammock (1970), Celine Condorelli (1974) and Lis Rhodes (1942). They were chosen by a jury consisting of Whitechapel gallery director Iwona Blazwick, gallerist Vanessa Carlos, collector Marcelle Joseph, artist Laure Prouvost and art critic Rachel Spence.

Open exclusively to women artists, “the prize – awarded every two years and open to all art forms – aims to encourage and support emerging women artists who live and work in the United Kingdom, which today is one of the centres of the international art scene.”

The prize’s past laureates are: Margaret Salmon, Hannah Rickards, Andrea Büttner, Laure Prouvost, Corin Sworn and Emma Hart.

The prize includes a solo show at London’s Whitechapel gallery and a six-month residency in locations around Italy, followed by an exhibition at the Collezione Maramotti.