FairsPeople 27-07-2017

Artists announced for the 11th Rencontres de Bamako

Mali’s Ministry of Culture and the Institut Français have announced the participating artists for the eleventh edition of the Rencontres de Bamako, taking place from December 2 to January 31, 2018 in the Malian city.

Established in 1994, the African Photography Encounters is organized biennially in Bamako, celebrating photography and video produced in Africa. This year’s edition, curated by Marie-Ann Yemsi, will welcome some 40 artists from the continent. The manifestation’s main event will be the Panafrican exhibition “Afrotopia”, taking place at the National Museum of Mali, whilst other satellite events will be hosted at the Musée de Bamako and at the Institut Français.


The curator Marie-Ann Yemsi, responsible for the 11th edition of the Rencontres de Bamako.


The artists were chosen from a total of 300 applications  by Yemsi with the help of managing director Samuel Sidibé and curatorial advisors Sammy Baloji, Olfa Feki, Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel, Lekgetho James Makola, Aïda Muluneh and Azu Nwagbogu.

After Bamako, the event’s 11th edition will also be presented in the Netherlands in April 2018 as part of a partnership with the Musée des Cultures du Monde.


The full list of participating artists:


Héla Ammar (Tunisia)

Bianca Baldi (South Africa)

Raphaël Barontini (France)

Neil Beloufa (France - Algeria)

Zied Ben Romdhane (Tunisia)

Girma Berta (Ethiopia)

Sibusiso Bheka (South Africa)

Black Athena Collective (Heba Y. Amin, Egypt and Dawit L. Petros, Eritrea - Canada)

Cairo Bats Collective (Mai Al Shazly, Egypt, Yvonne Buchheim, Germany, Magdalena Kallenberger, Germany, Hagar Masoud, Egypt, Nadia Mounier, Egypt, Omneia Naguib, Egypt)

Joana Choumali (Ivory Coast)

Julien Creuzet (France)

Mounir Fatmi (France - Morocco)

Rahima Gambo (Nigeria)

Gabrielle Goliath (South Africa)

Eric Gyamfi (Ghana)

Kelvin Haizel (Ghana)

Mahamoud Ibrahim (Comoros)

Délio Jasse (Angola)

Hélène Jayet (France - Mali)

Lola Keyezua (Angola)

Phumzile Khanyile (South Africa)

Youcef Krache (Algeria)

Michael McGarry (South Africa)

George Mahashe (South Africa)

Fototala King Massassy (Mali)

Teddy Mazine (Burundi)

Mpho Mokgadi (South Africa)

Baudouin Mouanda (Congo)

Joseph  Moura (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Musa Nxumalo (South Africa)

Qudus Onikeku (Nigeria)

Alain Polo (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Rina Ralay-Ranaivo (Madagascar)

Athi-Patra Ruga (South Africa)

Fethi Sahraoui (Algeria)

Christian Sanna (Madagascar - France)

Zina Saro-Wiwa (Nigeria)

Bogosi Sekhukhuni (South Africa)

George Senga (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Sarah Waiswa (Ouganda - Kenya)

0 385


Log in to add a comment