GalleriesArtists 05-09-2017

September 5 | Haegue Yang receives the Wolfgang Hahn Prize

Korean artist Haegue Yang receives an important award, while elsewhere the first Aren Biennale (China) has announced its program.

Haegue Yang takes home the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize

The Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst at the Museum Ludwig of Cologne has announced that Korean artist Haegue Yang (b. 1971) is the winner of the 2018 edition of the Wolfgang Hahn Prize. Yang is the first Asian artist to be awarded the prize, which she will be presented with on April 17 on occasion of the next edition of Art Cologne. The prize includes the acquisition of a work or series of works by the artist for the collection of the Museum Ludwig

Previous laureates include Lawrence Weiner, Cindy Sherman, Franz West, Richard Artschwager, Mike Kelley, Peter Doig and Christopher Wool. In October, Yang will have a solo exhibition at the Parisian gallery Chantal Crousel. Read more on Artdaily.



The first Anren Biennale will welcome 120 artists

The first edition of the event curated by art historian Lu Peng will open on October 1 and run through January 10. Peng will be responsible for creating “a dialogue between history, the present, and the possible future” — the overarching theme of the biennial — through for exhibitions.

For his part, Italian curator Marco Scotini, who is artistic director of Milan’s FM Centre for Contemporary Art, will be responsible for curating the show “The Szechwan Tale: Theater and History”, an exhibit inspired by the 1940 Bertolt Brecht play The Good Person of Szechwan. Artists Liu Ding and art critic Carol Yinghua Lu will also be in charge for curating sections of the events. Among the 120 artists featured in the biennial are: Peter Friedl, Piero Gilardi, Dan Graham, Joan Jonas, Ilya & Emilia Kabakov and William Kentridge. The full list via Artforum.




Paola Ismene wins Saatchi Gallery’s #SelfExpression competition

The Mexican artist was announced as the winner of the competition launched jointly by Saatchi Gallery and Huawei. Isemene, who was chosen among 9,000 other entries, will have a solo show at the London gallery.

The competition was launched in the wake of the success of #SaatchiSelfie. Nine other photographers will have their work featured at Saatchi: Bob Ballantyne (United States), Denis Cherim (Spain), Duncan Cunningham-Reid (Australia), Emma Gahan (Portugal), Casey Hennessy (UK), Lola Kay (Ukraine), Nick Owen (UK), Jason Pevey (United States)and Vallas Vincent (France). More via Creative Boom.


© Paola Isemene

0 195


Log in to add a comment